Skip to main content

Imprint: Point Blank

Subject: Crime & Thriller

Where the Missing Gather

‘Helen Sedgwick saw into the future and that future is now!’ Lemn Sissay, author of My Name Is Why

Helen Sedgwick

The unforgettable second book in the Burrowhead Mystery series

  • Publication date: May 5, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780861541935
  • RRP: £8.99
  • Pages: 416
  • Publication date: June 3, 2021
  • ISBN: 9781786079787
  • RRP: £4.99
  • Pages: 416


‘Another triumph. A masterful blend of crime and psychological suspense, with a hint of the supernatural for added chill... An immersive, haunting read.’
Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of Emily Noble's Disgrace

‘Those who loved When the Dead Come Calling… will enjoy getting reacquainted with DI Georgie Strachan.’

Herald, 25 of the best summer books

Sedgwick’s writing is evocative and compassionate and always draws us back… For a novel which has its roots in the ancient past, Where the Missing Gather is a sharply observed story for these anxious, post-Brexit times.’

Scotland on Sunday

‘[Sedgwick] sustains a suspenseful atmosphere of psychological and supernatural unease that will have you glancing nervously over your shoulder.’ 


‘[Sedgwick] explores sinister rituals and missing souls in this unputdownable crime novel.’

Scottish Book Trust

Praise for When the Dead Come Calling:

‘Unputdownable... Helen Sedgwick saw into the future and that future is now! It's an incredible book! READ IT.’ Lemn Sissay, author of My Name Is Why

‘Helen Sedgwick is one of Scotland's finest contemporary storytellers.’ Claire Askew, author of All the Hidden Truths

‘Sedgwick’s writing is minutely observational, clever and warm.’ Scotsman

Helen Sedgwick

Helen Sedgwick is the author of The Comet Seekers and The Growing Season, which was shortlisted for the Saltire Society Fiction Book of the Year in 2018. The opener to her Burrowhead Mysteries crime trilogy, When the Dead Come Calling, was published in 2020, followed by Where the Missing Gather in 2021. She has an MLitt in Creative Writing from Glasgow University and has won a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award. Before she became an author, she was a research physicist with a PhD in Physics from Edinburgh University. She lives in the Scottish Highlands. 

Author page

More books by Helen Sedgwick

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.

Select mailing lists