Skip to main content

The Secret Lives of People In Love

Includes the award-winning collection Love Begins in Winter

Simon Van Booy

Since the publication of his critically acclaimed debut collection The Secret Lives of People in Love, Simon Van Booy has been hailed as one of the most exciting and talented short-story writers in Anglo-American fiction. This magnificent collection brings together twenty-four stories by a writer of unparalleled lyricism, generosity and emotional power. Set in a range of locations, from Cornwall, Wales, and New York to Paris and Rome, these stark and beautiful stories are a perfect synthesis of intensity and atmosphere. Love, loss, isolation and the power of memory are Van Booy’s themes, and in spare, economical prose he writes about the difficult choices we make in order to retain our humanity, and about the redemptive power of love in a violent world.


  • Publication date: October 2, 2014
  • ISBN: 9781780745596
  • RRP: £9.99
  • Pages: 368
  • Publication date: October 2, 2014
  • ISBN: 9781780745947
  • RRP: £4.99
  • Pages: 384


'Its combination of staccato sentences and tidy symbolism transforms the finest passages into little haikus of prose.'

Daily Telegraph

'Incurable romantics will savour Simon Van Booy’s tender, Maupassant-like fables.'

New York Times

'His stories are full of the most exquisite insights.'

Patrick Cotter, Director of the Frank O’Connor Award

'Breathtaking. . .chillingly beautiful, like postcards from Eden... Van Booy’s stories are somehow like paintings the characters walk out of, and keep walking.'

Los Angeles Times

'Van Booy is a master of the atmospheric scene written in lyrical prose.'

The Short Review

'A first-rate storyteller'


'He shows an uncanny ability to create intense moods and emotions within the space of a few poetic paragraphs.'


'Each of these stories has moments of sheer loveliness.

Publishers Weekly

Simon Van Booy

Simon Van Booy was born in London and grew up in rural Wales and the suburbs of London. He is the author of three novels and two collections of short stories, including The Illusion of Separateness, The Secret Lives of People in Love, and Love Begins in Winter, which won the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award in 2009. He lives in New York.

Author page

More books by Simon Van Booy

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.
Select mailing lists