Skip to main content

Firekeeper’s Daughter

Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for YA

Angeline Boulley

An instant no. 1 New York Times Bestseller 

Winner of CrimeFest Best YA Crime Fiction Prize

Winner of the YA Fiction Goodreads Choice Awards

Shortlisted for Waterstones Children’s Book Prize

Time magazine pick for Best YA of All Time

 

Keep the Secret. Live the Lie. Earn your Truth.

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange comes a ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community

Eighteen-year-old Daunis has always felt like an outsider with her mixed heritage, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation.
When she witnesses a murder, Daunis reluctantly agrees to go undercover. But secretly she pursues her own investigation, tracking down the culprits with her knowledge of traditional medicine.
As the bodies pile up, Daunis finds herself caught in a web of deceit that threatens the people she loves the most.

‘Raw and moving’ Cosmopolitan


‘A story that grips like a bulldog clip on your heart’ Katherine Rundell, author of The Good Thieves


‘Thrilling and heartwrenching’ Aisha Bushby, author of A Pocketful of Stars


‘A swift-paced, compelling thriller’ Guardian

  • Publication date: January 27, 2022
  • ISBN: 9781786079060
  • RRP: £8.99
  • Pages: 496
  • Publication date: April 1, 2021
  • ISBN: 9781786079046
  • RRP: £12.99
  • Pages: 496
  • Publication date: March 16, 2021
  • ISBN: 9781786079053
  • RRP: £4.99
  • Pages: 496

Reviews

‘Both an interrogation of racist misogyny and a swift-paced, compelling thriller.’

Guardian

‘A story that grips like a bulldog clip on your heart.’ 

Katherine Rundell, author of The Good Thieves

'Raw and moving, the intricacies of family loyalty and who comes first are deftly and sensitively explored. Firekeeper's Daughter sensitively touches on crimes and lack of accountability against indigenous women in the Native American community and identity. Boulley has crafted a nuanced and refreshing protagonist.'

Cosmopolitan

 ‘Both thrilling and heartwrenching, with twists and turns I didn't see coming.’

Aisha Bushby, author of A Pocketful of Stars

Immersive and enthrallingFirekeeper’s Daughter plunges the reader into a community and a landscape enriched by a profound spiritual tradition. Full of huge characters and spellbinding scenes, it gives a fascinating insight into life on and off the reservation, with Daunis as a tough and resourceful heroine through every vicissitude.’ 

Financial Times

‘In this momentous YA debut, Angeline Boulley pulls from her Ojibwe background to craft her incredible protagonist.’

Elle, Best of 2021

'Intricate and moving. Boulley takes the reader on an incredible journey with the assurance of a veteran novelist.'

Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night

'Firekeeper's Daughter is a gripping and unforgettable story of family, community and identity told through the eyes of a protagonist so powerfully realised on the page, you'll swear you can hear her heart beat. Daunis Fontaine is a force to be reckoned with – and so is Angeline Boulley. This is one bold, uncompromising and elegantly crafted debut.'

Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

'What do you get when you combine Tommy Orange, Angie Thomas, and Tomi Adeyemi? This genre-bending new YA thriller.'

Entertainment Weekly

‘One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.’

Good Morning America

'A rare and mesmerising work that blends the power of a vibrant tradition with the aches and energy of today’s America. This book will leave you breathless!'

Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World

'Beautifully crafted and filled with super sleuthing, Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley is one of our most anticipated reads of 2021.'

Fierce Reads

Angeline Boulley

Angeline Boulley is an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians in Michigan. She gained attention for her debut Firekeeper’s Daughter thanks to We Need Diverse Books. It became a NYT No. 1 bestseller and has now sold in 20 territories worldwide. The book won the YA Goodreads Choice Award; the ALA Printz Award and Morris Award; the Walter Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature; and is Carnegie Medal Nominated. Firekeeper’s Daughter is soon to be made into a Netflix series. Angeline lives in Michigan but considers Sugar Island home.

Author page

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.
Name(Required)
Select mailing lists