Skip to main content

Imprint: Point Blank

Subject: Crime & Thriller

A Loyal Traitor

A Richard Knox Spy Thriller

Tim Glister

THE TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTH

CHOICE MAGAZINE HARDBACK OF THE MONTH

‘A thoroughly gripping spy thriller… Captures the high stakes paranoia of the era brilliantly.’ Adam Hamdy, author of Black 13

‘Intelligent, involving and gripping.’ Choice 

‘Considered and entertaining, I was drawn in from page one.’  Charlotte Philby, author of Part of the Family

 

Duty or honour. Which would you betray?

It’s 1966. London is swinging, and the Cold War is spiralling.

Clear cut lines have faded to grey areas. Whispers of conspiracies are everywhere. Spies on both sides of the iron curtain are running in circles, chasing constant plots and counterplots. And MI5 agent Richard Knox is tired of all of it.

But when Abey Bennett, his CIA comrade in arms, appears in London with a ghost from Knox’s past and a terrifying warning that could change the balance of power in the Cold War for good, he has to fight to save the future.

  • Publication date: September 1, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780861541683
  • RRP: £8.99
  • Pages: 304
  • Publication date: February 10, 2022
  • ISBN: 9780861541669
  • RRP: £16.99
  • Pages: 304
  • Publication date: December 25, 2021
  • ISBN: 9780861541676
  • RRP: £6.99
  • Pages: 304

Reviews

A Loyal Traitor is a thoroughly gripping spy thriller. Tim Glister puts the reader at the heart of the Cold War and captures the high stakes paranoia of the era brilliantly.’

Adam Hamdy, author of Black 13

‘There is a ruthless female killer at large, sightings of a Soviet submarine and ambitious KGB officers fomenting audacious coups. All this and references to Harry Palmer and The Day of the Jackal, cram the stage with scenery before a climax at the Royal Opera House.’

The Times, thriller of the month

A Loyal Traitor is an accomplished and atmospheric spy novel with an original protagonist and a burning question at its heart. Considered and entertaining, I was drawn in from page one.’

Charlotte Philby, author of Part of the Family

’Stunningly authentic, masterfully plotted and brilliantly composed, this is historical thriller writing at its very best.’ 

Matthew Richardson, author of The Insider

‘Original, gritty and compelling, A Loyal Traitor cements Glister's reputation as a master storyteller. Fans of John le Carré will love this!’

Awais Khan, author of No Honour

‘Intelligent, involving and gripping… The jigsaw pieces of the complex plot are picture-perfect.’

Choice Magazine, hardback of the month

‘It is incredibly satisfying reading a follow-up that not only matches but surpasses the original... This is superior stuff. A lean, intelligent espionage thriller skillfully rendering not just the messy truth of Cold War operations, but the intimate emotional toll of such work.’

Dominic Nolan, author of the Abigail Boone series

‘Tim Glister is creating such an elegant and vivid style of his own. This is another pitch perfect portrayal of a Cold War crisis. Glister creates a distinctive and fascinating thriller, which I hugely enjoyed.’

Holly Watt, author of To the Lions

‘The plot is fast-paced, with plenty of tension and action.’

Mystery People

‘A brilliantly convoluted plot with layer on layer of subplot at every turn.’

Shots Magazine

Praise for Red Corona:

‘This pitch-perfect debut – a gripping espionage thriller in the vein of Charles Cumming, Tom Rob Smith and Mick Herron – signals the arrival of a remarkable talent.’ A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

‘An entertaining blend of Le Carré-like in-house establishment rivalries and sheer propulsive action reminiscent of Len Deighton.’  Maxim Jakubowski

‘A thoroughly engaging spy thriller that had me gripped from start to finish and left me desperate for more!’
S. J. Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep

‘An entertaining, not to say nostalgic, espionage thriller.’ The Times Crime Club

Tim Glister

Tim Glister is a creative director working in advertising. He’s worked for a range of famous and infamous brands, including eighteen months at the controversial political communications agency Cambridge Analytica. His first thriller starring Richard Knox, Red Corona, was published in 2021. A Loyal Traitor is his second novel.

Author page

More books by Tim Glister

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.
Name(Required)
Select mailing lists