Vacuum in the Dark

Pages: 240
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Vacuum in the Dark

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOLLINGER EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE FOR COMIC FICTION, 2019

Jen Beagin

From the Whiting Award-winning author of Pretend I'm Dead comes a new hilarious, edgy, and brilliant one-of-a kind novel, for fans of Sally Rooney and Joshua Ferris 
Paperback
9781786077356 (13 Feb 2020)
RRP £8.99
Hardback
9781786075307 (4 Apr 2019)
RRP £12.99

The Book

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOLLINGER EVERYMAN WODEHOUSE PRIZE FOR COMIC FICTION

From the Whiting Award-winning author of Pretend I'm Dead comes a new hilarious, edgy, and brilliant one-of-a kind novel, for fans of Sally Rooney and Joshua Ferris 

Mona is twenty-six, working as a cleaner and looking for a fresh start in Taos, New Mexico. She moved there mostly to escape from a bad break-up with a junkie named Mr. Disgusting (don't ask). But her fresh start hasn't gone as smoothly as she expected, not least because she's found herself another bad boyfriend. This one she calls Dark, and it's complicated: he happens to be married to one of Mona's clients.

But Mona soon realises that neither her relationships nor her past traumas can be easily left behind. In an attempt to get over her heartbreak she winds up on an eccentric, moving, hilarious journey that takes her back to her own beginnings.

A constantly surprising, laugh-out-loud funny novel about an utterly original, quirky and unforgettable heroine, Vacuum in the Dark is an astonishing read from one of the freshest voices in fiction today.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 240
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Jen Beagin holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of California, Irvine, and has published stories in Juked and Faultline, among other journals and literary magazines. In 2017, she was awarded a prestigious Whiting Award for her debut novel Pretend I'm Dead. She lives in New York.

Reviews

'This novel is a joy: truly laugh-out-loud funny, while staying grounded and dignified.'

- New York Times

'By turns nutty and forlorn... Brash, deadpan, and achingly troubled, Mona emerges as that problematic friend you're nonetheless always thrilled to see.'

- O, the Oprah Magazine

'Beagin's attention to interiors and dialogue is impressive and she manages to capture the intimate portraits of her characters with deft skill... For fans of Jade Sharma and Ottessa Moshfegh.'

- Irish Times

‘We all have a companion voice in our heads. Never more so when life is unpleasant but we can't really change anything. How lucky we'd be if that voice was Jen Beagin's. Honest (sometimes brutal), compassionate and always able to pick out what's funny in the darkest spot. Vacuum in the Dark had me grinning in recognition and laughing even as I winced.'

- Sindhu Vee, Comedian and Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize judge

‘Wildly exuberant...a comic novel that's a joy to read but never frivolous or superficial. Beagin is unafraid to take risks, and they all pay off here — Vacuum in the Dark is an excellent book by a writer with a singular voice.'

- NPR

‘Beagin stands out among fiction's fresh crop of promising voices: Her prose is dry, cutting, and genuinely funny; she loves writing about strange people, an affection which translates in characterizations that stay sharp and peculiar without ever turning cruel.'

- Entertainment Weekly

'Inventing situations and conversations that are off-the-charts in both weirdness and relatability, Beagin fashions an enchantingly intriguing main character in unfiltered, warmhearted Mona. This story of a woman embracing life's what-ifs and her own darkness is a great read.'

- Booklist (starred review)

'Tremendously engaging... Funny and poignant... Beagin secures her position as a new writer to watch.'

- Kirkus (starred review)

'An unforgettable story from one of the freshest literary voices today.'

- Living North, Six of the Best Fiction Releases for 2019

'Beagin pulls no punches - this novel is viciously smart and morbidly funny.'

- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Also by this author