Twice Born

Pages: 464
Subject: Fiction, Translated Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Twice Born

Margaret Mazzantini

Translated by Ann Gagliardi
From the multi award-winning Irish-Italian author of Don't Move comes an international bestseller wrought in the fires of love and war
Paperback
9781851689163 (1 Apr 2012)
RRP £8.99

The Book

An internationally bestselling, acutely moving story set amidst the atrocities of the Bosnian war, Twice Born masterfully plumbs the depths of love, grief, and the all-consuming power of motherhood. Gemma hasn't been back to Sarajevo in sixteen years. She returns to teach her son Pietro about the city of his birth and the father he never knew. But the visit brings with it impassioned memories of her love affair with Pietro's father, their determination to have a child whatever the cost, and their deep connection to the city even as war threatened to destroy it.

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Twice Born is a tale of the acts of brutality and generosity that war can inspire, and of the bonds of family fused in times of crisis.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction, Translated Fiction
Pages 464
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Margaret Mazzantini was born in Dublin and now lives in Rome. She trained as an actress but left the stage to concentrate on writing. Her first novel, Don't Move, won the prestigious Strega Prize, and sold over 2m copies. Twice Born, already a blockbuster in Mazzantini's Italy, is optioned for a film starring Penelope Cruz.

Reviews

"This stunning novel about the nature of grief, love, and motherhood blew me away with the quality and depth of her haunting story."

- The Bookseller

'Awash with vivid memories and powerful emotion... A stunning book.'




- Irish News

'Epic and captivating… Truly unforgettable.'

- Easy Living

Also by this author