The Waters and the Wild

Pages: 320
Imprint: Oneworld

The Waters and the Wild

DeSales Harrison

A bewitching literary suspense debut, rich in atmosphere and Gothic overtones
Hardback
9781780749112 (3 May 2018)
RRP £14.99
Paperback
9781786071798 (3 May 2018)
RRP £12.99

The Book

The death of Jessica Burke was easy to explain: a history of depression, a heroin habit, a girl alone in her bathtub. But when her psychoanalyst, Daniel Abend, receives an ominous, handwritten poem, he quickly realizes that this was not just an overdose. As a second and third missive arrive from the same mysterious source, and his daughter abruptly disappears, Daniel finds himself the subject of an elaborate and calculated torment, one that reaches back decades, crosses oceans, and begins with a chance encounter with a beguiling girl in a Paris stairwell. 

With richly layered, masterful prose, DeSales Harrison has constructed a brilliantly choreographed and spellbinding tale of desperate fathers, stolen daughters, and the distance we travel for revenge and absolution.

Additional Information

Pages 320
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

DeSales Harrison earned his BA at Yale University, MA at Johns Hopkins University, and PhD at Harvard University, where he was a Briggs-Copeland Lecturer of English. Harrison is a professor of Lyric Poetry at Oberlin College, where he lives with his wife and daughter. 

Reviews

'A cryptic, beguiling puzzle-box of a book...a mesmeric exploration of guilt in the vein of Vertigo or The Secret History, with the frantic nightmare-logic of a thriller.'

- David Gilbert, author of & Sons