The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman

Pages: 144
Subject: Fiction, Translated Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman

Denis Theriault

Translated by Liedewy Hawke
For readers of The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly and The Guest Cat comes this passionate, bittersweet love story that will move readers old and young


9781786070531 (2 Feb 2017)
RRP £8.99 / US$15.99

The Book

Secretly steaming open envelopes and reading the letters inside, Bilodo has found an escape from his lonely and routine life as a postman. When one day he comes across a mysterious letter containing only a single haiku, he finds himself avidly caught up in the relationship between a long-distance couple who write to each other using only beautiful poetry. He feasts on their words, vicariously living a life for which he longs. But it will only be a matter of time before his world comes crashing down around him…

An instant hit on first publication when it was selected for Simon Mayo's BBC Radio 2 Book Club, this beautifully packaged new edition is the ideal primer for Thériault's much anticipated sequel, The Postman's Fiancée, which will be published by Oneworld in July.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction, Translated Fiction
Pages 144
Imprint Oneworld

About the Author

Denis Thériault is an award-winning author and screenwriter living in Montreal, Canada. The Peculiar Life of a Lonely Postman is his second novel and a much anticipated sequel, The Postman's Fiancée (Oneworld) will be published in July 2017.


'Enchanting, philosophically astute and deeply poignant'

- John Burnside

'Quirky and charming with a well-executed denouement, this novella brings to mind nothing less than a giddily-lovesick Kafka' 

- Guardian

‘A captivating philosophical tale'

- Le Devoir, Canada

‘A love story between two people who've never met, thanks to the magic of a deepening correspondence. In times of internet and social networking, Thériault succeeds in offering fine and spirited promotion for letters' 

- Le Figaro, France