The Only Girl in the World

Pages: 288
Subject: Biography, Popular Psychology
Imprint: Oneworld

The Only Girl in the World

A Memoir

Maude Julien

Translated by Adriana Hunter
For readers of Damaged and Running with Scissors, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.
Hardback
9781786071354 (4 Jan 2018)
RRP £14.99

The Book

 

For readers of Damaged and Running with Scissors, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.

Maude still remembers the sound of the gate being locked behind her. She was three years old when they moved into the secluded manor, and she would only be allowed out again a handful of times.

Her parents belonged to a fanatical Masonic order who believed that it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor. She followed a strict schedule of study, hard labour and endless drills designed to ‘eliminate weakness', such as holding an electric fence without flinching and sitting still in a rat-infested cellar.

But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending animals on the lonely estate and characters in the books she read, Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love her parents forbade.

Additional Information

Subject Biography, Popular Psychology
Pages 288
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Maude Julien is a psychotherapist specialising in child trauma, manipulation and mind control. A frequent contributor to radio and television, she has helped hundreds of patients since 1995. Maude is married and lives in Paris with her two daughters.

Reviews

‘A living testimony of resilience… An account as gripping as it is inspiring.'

- Elle

'The Only Girl in the World, a bestseller in France, is a portrait of a three-person cult - Maude and her parents.'

- Guardian

'A startling testament of survival.'

- Kirkus

'Your heart will break out in symphonies. [The Only Girl in the World] is an astonishing story, told in lucid, intelligent prose.'

- The Australian

'I was right there with Maude from the very beginning, and the prose was written in such a way that it wasn't dry or stilted... a fantastic memoir that I recommend highly.'

- The Cosy Dragon

'…a testament to her resilience. She also offers a valuable analysis of extreme methods of manipulation and psychological and emotional control.'

- BBC 'Ten Books to Read in December'

'Harrowing, heartbreaking, and against-all-odds uplifting [...] Maude Julien's voice is eloquent, composed, understated - the facts of the story are devastating enough.'

- Saturday Paper

'This story is never maudlin—it is so absorbing that you have to remind yourself to breathe from time to time…'

- Le Point

'A deeply moving story of resilience and the power of the human spirit to find beauty and love amid the bleakest circumstances.'

- Good Reading

'[N]ever self-pitying… an ultimately uplifting read.'

- Sydney Morning Herald

'A tale of seclusion, deprivation, abuse… And yet, there is never any doubt that Maude Julien will transcend what she is going through and become the woman she is today: an admirable person.'

- Psychologies

'Maude Julien delivers a staggering testimony, one that remains full of hope.'

- Ouest France

'This fascinating memoir never wallows in misery. Verdict: Triumphant.'

- Cairns Weekend Post

'Maude Julien developed an amazing resistance to suffering from a very early age, transcending the acts of barbarism inflicted upon her… Books can indeed save lives.'

- Le Journal du Dimanche

'The Only Girl in the World delves into the fascinating subject of psychological control, with the author—now a therapist—as her own subject. Maude Julien goes beyond resentment and shows us a path toward hope.'

- Livres Hebdo

'The power of The Only Girl in the World lies in its ability to depict without judging—Julien never laments her situation, instead letting the facts speak for themselves.'

- Libération

'This book will leave you stunned. It's hard to fathom that it's all true.'

- La Voix du Nord

 'Her book offers a ray of hope.'

- Metro Belgique

'The Only Girl In The World is…a magnifying study of human trials, obsessions, and abuse, as well as a harrowing look at a child and woman's strength and beautiful regard to the nature of those around her.'

- AV Club

'Proof that love is in our nature regardless of our nurture.'

- Vanity Fair

'This is a dark, moving, and thoughtfully rendered story.'

- Publishers Weekly

'Maude Julien's extraordinary memoir, The Only Girl in the World, is a harrowing yet achingly beautiful tale of a girl imprisoned by her brutal, fanatic family, but whose yearning for wonder and love ultimately drives her toward the improbable light of the world. This is a story of resilience unlike any I have ever read.'

- Mira Bartók, author of National Book Critics Circle Award Winner The Memory Palace

'One of the most original and compelling stories I've read. Maude Julien's love of books ignites an insatiable curiosity about the world... A tale of hope and profound courage, Julien's story illustrates how trusting ourselves and following our hearts can save us from the most oppressive and cruel conditions. Her brave spirit shines as a bright reminder that what lies within us is stronger and more powerful than our circumstances.'

- Ruth Wariner, New York Times bestselling author of The Sound of Gravel