The Only Child

Pages: 304
Imprint: Point Blank

The Only Child

Mi-ae Seo

The Only Child is a shockingly unnerving psychological thriller from bestselling Korean author Mi-ae Seo.
Paperback
9781786078551 (6 Feb 2020)
RRP £12.99

The Book

Criminal psychologist Seonkyeong has two new people in her life.

A serial killer whose gruesome murders shook the world but who has steadfastly remained silent. Until now.

A young, innocent looking stepdaughter from her husband's previous marriage, who unexpectedly turns up at the door after the sudden death of her grandparents.

Both are unsettling.

Both are deeply troubled.

And both seem to want something from her. Can she work out just who is the victim in all of this? Before it's too late...

 

Additional Information

Pages 304
Imprint Point Blank

 

About the Author

Mi-ae Seo is a bestselling thriller writer and screenwriter in Korea.

Reviews

'Fans of Mindhunter and Silence of the Lambs will love this dark, cognitive duel between psychologist and serial killer.'

- Jonathan Trigell, author of Boy A

'With cold precision, Seo creates a chilling and engrossing profile of a next-generation serial killer.'

- Kirkus

'Korean author Seo makes her debut with a creepy psychological thriller ... Seo stealthily spins an ever-tightening narrative web setting up a doubly shocking climax. It's a measure of Seo's skill that she manages to find flashes of humanity in a ruthless murderer. Fans of Netflix's Mindhunter should feel right at home.'

- Publishers Weekly

'This is one creepy book. Come for the serial killers, criminal profilers and spooky children, stay for the twisting character studies and insight into domestic trauma. But check all the locks first.'

- Thomas Mullen, author of Darktown

'Wholly absorbing, but without any pandering on the author's part, so that the language, the style, and the mood grow about you, as you slip deeper into the story and realize, quite suddenly, you are immersed. An eerie, electrifying read.'

- Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box

'For fans of Mindhunter, Mi-Ae Seo's novel The Only Child feels like true crime but is a tour de force of twisty fiction with a shocking ending you won't be able to stop thinking about.  Family secrets abound in this fine novel of psychological suspense.'

- Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger

'I absolutely loved this debut thriller...expertly plotted, fantastic characters, an absolute pleasure to read... This has a really good chance of being one of my top crime thriller reads this year!'

- Independent Book Reviews

'Never in my history of reading thrillers have I ever been invested in the development and safety of every character including the villain...This novel is written with such poise and restraint that I was left all the more speechless in the end.'

- Something Bookish