The Dust Never Settles

Pages: 384
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

The Dust Never Settles

Karina Lickorish Quinn

A hauntingly beautiful debut for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro
Paperback(Out of stock)
9780861543168 (2 Jun 2022)
RRP £9.99

The Book

'A breath-taking writer of singular voice.' Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution

'I have seen ghosts. They will not rest. The whispers of the past are all around...'

Anaïs Echeverría left Peru, the country where she grew up, many years ago. She has built a new life for herself in London: engaged and pregnant, she dares to believe that she has left the ghosts of her family's past behind.

But now she must return to Lima to sell her ancestral home, the notorious yellow house that looms over the sprawling city below. Concealed within its walls are spectres from the past that demand her attention, remnants of the injustices on which both her country and her house were built. 

The Dust Never Settles sweeps from the bustling beaches and teeming salsa halls of contemporary Lima to the rise and fall of the Inca empire; from vengeful Andean gods, to fishermen crammed into local ceviche bars and a civil war that will devastate the nation. Hauntingly beautiful, effortlessly poetic and epic in scope, it is the story of Anaïs's uneasy homecoming, and a reckoning with secrets that refuse to stay buried. 

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 384
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Karina Lickorish Quinn is a bilingual, Peruvian-British writer raised in Lima, the English Midlands and New York. Karina has a BA from Oxford University, an MA from UCL, and a PhD from Queen Mary University of London. She is a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Leeds. 

Her short fiction features in Un Nuevo Sol, the first major anthology of British-Latinx writers, published by Flipped Eye Publishing. Her work has also appeared in The Offing, Asymptote, The Journal of Latina Critical Feminism, and Palabritas. In 2016, she was shortlisted for The White Review's short story prize. The Dust Never Settles is her first novel.

Reviews

'A mesmerising feat of imagination and a masterful debut.'

- Paul Lynch, author of Irish Novel of the Year winner, Grace

'Lickorish Quinn's magnificent debut enchants from first page to last... A breath-taking writer of singular voice.'

- Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution

'Karina Lickorish Quinn is the new face of magic realism. She has given it, through Anaïs, a female body and soul… She makes it sing, she makes it work and she has built a world that stands on its own three feet. Like its title, The Dust Never Settles will stay floating inside the reader, impossible to forget or unsee.'

- Laia Jufresa, author of Umami

'An innovative and precisely imagined exploration of identity, family, ghosts, and the intersection between personal and national history. It swept me away.'

- Clare Fisher, author of All the Good Things

'The Dust Never Settles is ambitious, fascinating and endlessly inventive - a time-bending, kaleidoscopic fever dream in which the living coexist with the dead, and the past with present.'

- Luiza Sauma, author of Everything You Ever Wanted

'Karina Lickorish Quinn has rendered on the page a person and a place in all their conflicted histories so convincingly and dizzyingly and singularly that the very ink haunts. It leaves a shadow text on the reader's psyche. The Dust Never Settles is a marvelous, vertiginous work that mercilessly conveys the post-colonial state.'

- Caoilinn Hughes, author of The Wild Laughter

Also by this author