The Dust Never Settles

Pages: 400
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

The Dust Never Settles

Karina Lickorish Quinn

A hauntingly beautiful debut for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro
Hardback
9780861540440 (7 Oct 2021)
RRP £16.99

The Book

A hauntingly beautiful debut for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro

The yellow walls of Anaïs' family home loom over the sprawling city of Lima. When she left Peru and moved to London, she dared to hope she might have left the echoing voices of her ancestors behind - voices that reverberate through the corridors of the family mansion. But now she must return to Peru to organise the sale of the house, submerging herself once more in the constant whispers of her deceased relatives. What begins as an uneasy homecoming soon becomes a reckoning with secrets that refuse to stay buried, in this gorgeously atmospheric debut from an unforgettable new literary voice.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 400
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Karina Lickorish-Quinn is a bilingual, Peruvian-British writer raised in Lima, the English Midlands and New York. Karina has a BA from Oxford University, an MA from UCL, and a PhD from Queen Mary University of London. She is a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of Leeds. 

Her short fiction features in Un Nuevo Sol, the first major anthology of British-Latinx writers, published by Flipped Eye Publishing. Her work has also appeared in The Offing, Asymptote, The Journal of Latina Critical Feminism, and Palabritas. In 2016, she was shortlisted for The White Review's short story prize. The Dust Never Settles is her first novel.

 

Reviews

'A sorcerer walks through these pages weaving time past and time present into a Scheherazadean swirl. This is a mesmerising feat of imagination and a masterful debut.'

- Paul Lynch, author of Irish Novel of the Year winner, Grace

'Captivating and epic in scale, sumptuously imagined, with a wry and generous vision of human frailty, Lickorish Quinn's magnificent debut enchants from first page to last. This is a novel that takes seriously the claims of history—of colonialism and slavery in particular—tracing their reverberations across the centuries and into the present. It is a work of astonishing empathy and expansiveness, a story that bends spacetime to take us on a journey towards a place and an hour where redemption might prove possible. Working at the intersection of languages and cultures, the global north and the global south, Lickorish Quinn is a breath-taking writer of singular voice.'

- Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution