Losing Touch

Losing Touch Zoom

Close

It appears you don't have the ability to view PDFs in this browser.
Click here to download the sample directly.
Look Inside
Pages: 224
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Losing Touch

Sandra Hunter

A richly observed British-Asian domestic saga, for fans of Monica Ali and Hanif Kureishi.
Paperback
9781780743820 (1 May 2014)
RRP £8.99 / US$15.99

The Book

Arjun brought his family to North West London after Indian independence, but hopes of a better life rapidly dissipate. His wife Sunila spends all day longing for an Aga and a nice English tea service, his son hates anything Indian, and his daughter, well, that's a whole other problem. Reeling from the death of his younger brother, Arjun vainly attempts to enforce the values he grew up with, while his family eagerly embrace the new. But when his right leg suddenly fails him, Arjun's growing sense of imbalance is more than external.

Offering an intimate and touching portrait of an immigrant family precariously balanced on the cusp of East and West, Hunter's strikingly sympathetic characters remind us of our own shortfalls, successes, hypocrisies - and humanity.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 224
Imprint Oneworld

About the Author

Sandra Hunter is a prolific short-story writer. She has won the Arthur Edelstein Prize for Short Fiction, and been a finalist for numerous short-story prizes, including the Pushcart. Born and brought up in England, she now teaches at Moorpark College, California. Losing Touch is her first novel.

Reviews

‘I loved the humanity of it, the sadness of regrets and lost opportunities, the tension of the relationships in the midst of trying to straddle two cultures and still the joy in life especially when new life starts.'

- Graham Fulton