Let’s Go Swimming on Doomsday

Pages: 480
Imprint: Rock the Boat

Let’s Go Swimming on Doomsday

Natalie C. Anderson

A haunting tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What
Paperback
9781786079121 (2 Jul 2020)
RRP £7.99

The Book

A haunting tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What



When Abdi's family is kidnapped, he's coerced into becoming a child soldier for ruthless militia group Al Shabaab. Agreeing to act as a spy for the Americans in the hope of saving those he loves, Abdi soon finds himself so embroiled in the militia group that he's no longer sure what he believes.



After finally escaping, Abdi finds himself on the streets of Sangui City, stealing what he can to get by and trying desperately to forget the atrocities he witnessed. However, he soon finds he can no longer run when an arrest for petty theft sets in motion a chain of events which force him to confront the past.

Additional Information

Pages 480
Imprint Rock the Boat

 

Reviews

'Anderson...breathe[s] ferocious life into a story that needs to be told. This is one of those tough but invaluable books with the power to increase a reader's awareness of and empathy for teens who have lost the right to be young.'

- Booklist, starred review

'A riveting account…[where] greed, guilt, and redemption are layered in a sober yet tender narrative showing the lengths one will go to for loved ones.'

- Kirkus Reviews

'An intriguing examination of ways familial loyalty and guilt can lead anyone to make desperate choices. Anderson uses the exploration of manipulation and coercion to craft a thought-provoking narrative.'

- School Library Journal

'[Anderson] makes it clear how difficult it is for even children to survive this faith-based and historically rooted conflict unscathed.'

- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

'Narrator Kevin R. Free breathes dramatic urgency into Anderson's intense story…Listeners hear and feel Abdi's horror and numb, helpless despair at the atrocities he witnesses — and perpetrates — and we rejoice at his redemption.' 

- AudioFile, Earphones Award Winner

Also by this author