Firekeeper's Daughter

Pages: 496
Imprint: Rock the Boat

Firekeeper's Daughter

Angeline Boulley

A ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community
Hardback
9781786079046 (18 Mar 2021)
RRP £12.99

The Book

Keep the Secret. Live the Lie. Earn your Truth. 

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange comes a ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community

Eighteen-year-old Daunis's mixed heritage has always made her feel like an outsider, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. When she witnesses a shocking murder, she reluctantly agrees to be part of a covert FBI operation into a series of drug-related deaths. 

But the deceptions - and deaths - keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home. Now Daunis must decide what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known.

Additional Information

Pages 496
Imprint Rock the Boat

 

About the Author

Angeline Boulley is an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians based in Michigan. She is the former director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education and gained attention for this debut novel thanks to the non-profit organisation We Need Diverse Books. Angeline lives in southwest Michigan but considers ‘home' to be Sugar Island.

Reviews

'What do you get when you combine Tommy Orange, Angie Thomas, and Tomi Adeyemi? This genre-bending new YA thriller.'

- Entertainment Weekly

'Beautifully crafted and filled with super sleuthing, Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley is one of our most anticipated reads of 2021.'

 

- Fierce Reads