Blog - News


Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson's father Stanley Johnson’s satirical thriller about political "skullduggery", Kompromat, is to be adapted for a Channel 4 TV series. It is in development for a six-part television series by Noho Film and TV for Channel 4.

Read more about the story in The Bookseller.

The judges called Juliet Mabey 'an editor who is bold and clear in her decision-making… and who spots the potential in books and authors that many others do not'. With her authors winning two consecutive Man Booker Prizes, Mabey’s literary instincts have transformed Oneworld's sales and profile, in the UK trade and overseas. The judges admired her for diversifying UK publishing, bringing things into the market from around the world that might not otherwise be seen.

To see a full list of winners, visit the Bookseller website. 

Fever Dream by Argentinian novelist Samanta Schweblin, translated by Megan McDowell, has been shortlisted for the Man Booker International Prize. The winner of the 2017 award will be announced on 14th June. For the complete shortlist, visit the Man Booker Prize website.

It was announced on 10th April 2017 that the Panama Papers investigation won the Pulitzer Prize for Explanatory Reporting. To read the behind the scenes story of the biggest leak in history, read The Panama Papers by the two journalists who broke the story.



The Seven - The Lives and Legacies of the Founding Fathers of the Irish Republic by Ruth Dudley Edwards has been longlisted for the Orwell Book Prize 2017.

To see the entire longlist, visit the Orwell Prize website

Oneworld is honoured to be shortlisted for three British Book Awards.



Fiction Book of the Year - The Sellout

Editor of the Year - Juliet Mabey

Independent Publisher of the Year


For all of shortlistings, visit The Bookseller

Oneworld is proud to announce that Fever Dream by Samanta Schweblin, translated by Megan McDowell, has been longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017.

From 2016 the Man Booker International Prize has evolved to encourage more publishing and reading of quality fiction in translation. From this date the prize is to be awarded annually on the basis of a single book.

Visit the Man Booker Prize website to see the entire list of longlisted titles. 

Oneworld is honoured to win the 2017 Alison Morrison Diversity Award at the Independent Publishers Awards on 9th February 2017.

For a list of all the winners, click here to visit the IPG website.

Oneworld prides itself on showcasing a very diverse, inclusive workplace. In 2016 we went a step further and launched our Diversity Access Programme to help ensure that our intake of interns reflects the rich diversity of the society in which we live and work, and for whom we publish.

The publishing industry has been criticized in the past for being too white and too middle class, and this new initiative is designed to help address this issue and ensure that those working in the industry are more representative of wider society. This is essential if publishers are to produce books that showcase the full diversity of voices to be found here in Britain, and tell the stories that are not being told. This is especially true for our children’s list, to help our young readers access stories in which they can see themselves and that reflect the issues they experiences in their own lives.

We are happy to work closely with organizations sharing this important objective, and to date we have liaised with both Creative Access and Spread the Word, but we are equally happy to receive applications from aspiring interns from a broad variety of backgrounds. To apply for one of our internship programmes please click here to go to our careers page. 

Booker-winning novel picked for special pre-Christmas promotional push

Foyles will have displays of The Sellout, carrying a gold and white Foyles Book of the Year sticker, at till points and front of house across all branches in London, Bristol, Birmingham and Chelmsford. The book will be highlighted on in-store screens, windows, homepage and social media channels.

Simon Heafield, Head of Marketing and Brand at Foyles said: "Paul Beatty’s novel is important, timely and original. From publication day the book has enjoyed a phenomenal reception at Foyles from our booksellers and customers alike, leading us to name it as our Book of the Year for 2016. We fully expect the huge demand we've seen at Foyles for this book to continue right up to Christmas, and beyond."

Heather Baker, senior buyer at Foyles, said: "To say this is a daring, multi-layered, iconoclastic, laugh-out-loud masterpiece is to understate how much I loved it. It made me cry, it made me snort with laughter, and it still makes me furious. Beatty shines a fierce light into places that many would rather remain hidden, and does so with such sharpness, anger and erudition, underpinned with so much love and humour. It is in the truest sense a great American novel."

Items 1 to 10 of 20 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2