If you’re looking to mark International Women’s Day by reading books written by and about women (and you should be), we’ve selected 8 titles to inspire and empower. Check out the end of this post for a sneak peek at 3 upcoming books that we’re excited to be publishing soon.

Non-Fiction

Votes for Women

Votes for Women! by Jenni Murray

100 years ago (some) women were given the vote for the first time. Meet some of the women who fought for change by any means necessary.

 My Life on the Road

My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem

One of the greatest feminist icons of the 20th and 21st centuries talks about her journey to where she is today, featuring campaign trails, standing up for her beliefs, and a lot of travelling.  

 Girls & Sex

Girls and Sex by Peggy Orenstein

How are teenage girls navigating the changing landscape of female sexuality? Learn about the difficulties and pressures of growing up as a woman in the 21st century.

 Hormonal

Hormonal by Martie Haselton

Get empowered and discover the concept of hormonal intelligence from the world’s leading authority on sexuality and the ovulation process.

 

Fiction

Kintu

Kintu by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Mixing myth, legend and folktale, Kintu is an award-winning debut novel telling the story of Uganda’s history through the cursed bloodline of the Kintu clan.

 The Unit

The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist

A near-future dystopian novel for fans of Margaret Atwood, The Unit centres on organ donation in a world where certain inhabitants are deemed ‘dispensable’.

 The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao

The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao by Martha Batalha (translated by Eric M. B. Becker)

Darkly comic, charming and rebellious, follow two sisters who are not ready to play by the rules in 1940s Rio de Janeiro.

 The Parentations

The Parentations by Kate Mayfield

Everlasting life. Hidden secrets. A mysterious baby. London and Iceland collide over two centuries in this compelling debut novel.

 

The below three books will be coming out over the next few months, so make sure to add them to your must-read list:

 The Baghdad Clock

The Baghdad Clock by Shahad Al Rawi (translated by Luke Leafgren)

A poignant story of two girls growing up in war-torn Baghdad that has been shortlisted for the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2018.

 Pretend I'm Dead

Pretend I’m Dead by Jen Beagin

A hilarious debut about a young cleaning woman’s journey to find herself.

 Fight Like a Girl

Fight Like A Girl by Clementine Ford

An essential feminist manifesto and call-to-arms for feminists past, present and future.

 

This isn’t by no means an exhaustive list. Explore our website for more brilliant books written by women, and let us know your favourite reads on Twitter.