Beyond the Sea

Pages: 192
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Beyond the Sea

Paul Lynch

An unforgettable novella on grief and survival from one of Ireland's rising stars
Hardback
9781786076489 (29 Aug 2019)
RRP £12.99

The Book

From the award-winning author of Grace (Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2018) comes this powerful, devastating, and redemptive novel.

Fishermen Bolivar and Hector set sail from their South American village, but soon find themselves cast adrift in the Pacific Ocean by a sudden storm. As the days pass and no rescue materialises, the two men must come to terms with their environment, and with each other, if they are to survive.

Part gripping survival story, part fearless existential parable, Beyond the Sea is a meditation on what it means to be a man, a friend, a father and a sinner in our fallen world. As deep and timeless as the sea, this novel sits squarely in the tradition of Camus, Borges, Joyce, Beckett, and McCarthy.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 192
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Paul Lynch is the author of the novels Red Sky in Morning, The Black Snow and Grace. He won the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2018 for his third novel, Grace, which was also shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction & the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing 2018. The Black Snow won France's Prix Libr'à Nous for Best Foreign Novel, and was a finalist for the Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger (Best Foreign Book Prize). He lives in Dublin with his wife and daughter. His website is www.paullynchwriter.com

Reviews

‘Combining the sensibilities of a Joseph Conrad or a Cormac McCarthy with the poetic intensity of an Emily Dickinson, this rich, raw, and powerful seascape by Paul Lynch throws the sea's storms and the sea's light into the darkest corners of human consciousness. An astonishing achievement.'

- Jane Urquhart, author of The Night Stages

Praise for Grace:

 

‘A profound and unusual coming-of-age story.' Sunday Times

 

‘A shudderingly well written, dead-real, hallucinatory trip across Famine Ireland.' Emma Donoghue, author of Room

 

'Lynch's book is a celebration of the human spirit in even the most trying of circumstances and the steps we take to ensure our survival.' Irish Independent

Also by this author