Beyond the Sea

Pages: 224
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Beyond the Sea

Paul Lynch

An unforgettable novella on grief and survival from one of Ireland's rising stars
Hardback
9781786076489 (23 Jun 2019)
RRP £12.99

The Book

An unforgettable novella on grief and survival from one of Ireland's rising stars

A powerful, devastating, and redemptive novel by the award-winning author of Grace. Beyond the Sea tells the tale of two South American fishermen, Bolivar and Hector, who go to sea before a sudden storm. Cast adrift in the Pacific Ocean, the two men must come to terms with their environment, and each other, if they are to survive.



Beyond the Sea begins as a gripping survival story and ends as a fearless existential parable, a meditation on what it means to be a man, a friend, a sinner, a human, in our fallen world. As deep and timeless as the sea, this novel sits squarely in the tradition of Camus, Borges, Joyce, Beckett, and McCarthy.

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 224
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Paul Lynch is the author of the novels Red Sky in Morning, The Black Snow and Grace. He won the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2018 for his third novel, Grace, which was also shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction & the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing 2018. The Black Snow won France's Prix Libr'à Nous for Best Foreign Novel, and was a finalist for the Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger (Best Foreign Book Prize). He lives in Dublin with his wife and daughter. His website is www.paullynchwriter.com

Reviews

Praise for Grace:

 

‘A profound and unusual coming-of-age story.' Sunday Times

 

‘A shudderingly well written, dead-real, hallucinatory trip across Famine Ireland.' Emma Donoghue, author of Room

 

'Lynch's book is a celebration of the human spirit in even the most trying of circumstances and the steps we take to ensure our survival.' Irish Independent

Also by this author