Beasts of a Little Land

Pages: 416
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Beasts of a Little Land

Juhea Kim

An expansive epic spanning the turbulent decades of Korea's fight for independence, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko
Hardback
9780861543229 (3 Feb 2022)
RRP £16.99

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 416
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Juhea Kim was born in In Cheon, Korea, and moved to Portland, Oregon, at age nine. Her writing has been published in GrantaCatapultJoylandTimes Literary SupplementThe IndependentZyzzyva, and elsewhere. She is the founder and editor of Peaceful Dumpling, an online magazine at the intersection of sustainable lifestyle and ecological literature. She earned her BA in Art and Archaeology from Princeton University. After a decade in New York City, Kim now lives in Portland, Oregon. 

Reviews

'Stunning... Profound... This novel will devastate you and then still you with its wise meditations on love and loss. I couldn't put it down.'

- Alexis Schaitkin, author of Saint X

'Elegant and wise, lush and immersive, Beasts of a Little Land is Tolstoyan in its sweep and ambition as it brings to life the Korean struggle against Japanese occupation and the making of a modern nation in the first half of the 20th century. Juhea Kim is a conjurer of rare ability whose magnificent debut utterly enchants.'

- Keija Parssinen, author of The Unraveling of Mercy Louis