Beasts of a Little Land

Pages: 416
Subject: Fiction
Imprint: Oneworld

Beasts of a Little Land

Juhea Kim

An expansive epic spanning the turbulent decades of Korea's fight for independence, perfect for fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko
Hardback
9780861543229 (3 Feb 2022)
RRP £16.99

Additional Information

Subject Fiction
Pages 416
Imprint Oneworld

 

About the Author

Juhea Kim was born in In Cheon, Korea, and moved to Portland, Oregon, at the age of nine. She is the founder and editor of Peaceful Dumpling, an online magazine at the intersection of sustainable lifestyle and ecological literature. She earned her BA in Art and Archaeology from Princeton University. Her writing has been published in GrantaCatapultJoylandTimes Literary Supplement, IndependentZyzzyva and elsewhere, and Beasts of a Little Land is her debut novel. After a decade in New York City, Kim now lives in Portland, Oregon. 

Reviews

'Stunning... Profound... This novel will devastate you and then still you with its wise meditations on love and loss. I couldn't put it down.'

- Alexis Schaitkin, author of Saint X

'Juhea Kim's sweeping debut is pure reading pleasure. Rapturous, ravishing, and gorgeously rendered, Beasts of a Little Land is a portal to a whole world teeming with life, so full of wonders I wanted it never to end.'

- Catherine Chung, author of The Tenth Muse

'Gorgeous prose and unforgettable characters combine to make a literary masterpiece.'

- Kirkus, (starred review)

'Elegant and wise, lush and immersive, Beasts of a Little Land is Tolstoyan in its sweep and ambition as it brings to life the Korean struggle against Japanese occupation and the making of a modern nation in the first half of the 20th century. Juhea Kim is a conjurer of rare ability whose magnificent debut utterly enchants.'

- Keija Parssinen, author of The Unraveling of Mercy Louis

'In Beasts of a Little Land, Juhea Kim has taken the concept of inyeon - human thread - to weave a beautiful story in which human connections and encounters are preordained. She explores the ideas of fate, fortune, and destiny against the backdrop of the great turbulence and historic events that transpired on the Korean peninsula during the twentieth century. A spectacular debut filled with great characters and heart.'

- Lisa See, author of The Island of Sea Women

'Beasts of a Little Land is an emotional, raw, and moving novel about friendship and the struggle for Korean independence. It is a novel unlike anything I've read. Most importantly, though, it is a novel about love. Juhea Kim writes beautifully in a way that makes it difficult to put this novel down. I loved it.'

- Brandon Hobson, National Book Award finalist and author of The Removed