A Loyal Traitor

Pages: 304
Imprint: Point Blank

A Loyal Traitor

A Richard Knox Spy Thriller

Tim Glister

Delve back into vibrant, paranoid 1960s London in this fast-paced second book in the Richard Knox Spy Thriller series
Paperback(Out of stock)
9780861541683 (1 Sep 2022)
RRP £8.99
Hardback
9780861541669 (10 Feb 2022)
RRP £16.99

The Book

Duty or honour. Which would you betray?

It's 1966. London is swinging, and the Cold War is spiralling.



Clear cut lines have faded to grey areas. Whispers of conspiracies are everywhere. Spies on both sides of the iron curtain are running in circles, chasing constant plots and counterplots. And MI5 agent Richard Knox is tired of all of it.



But when Abey Bennett, his CIA comrade in arms, appears in London with a ghost from Knox's past and a terrifying warning that could change the balance of power in the Cold War for good, he has to fight to save the future.



He must also face an agonising choice: who will he believe, and who will he betray - his duty to his country or his loyalty to his friends?

Additional Information

Pages 304
Imprint Point Blank

 

About the Author

Tim Glister is a creative director working in advertising. He's worked for a range of famous and infamous brands, including eighteen months at the controversial political communications agency Cambridge Analytica. His first thriller starring Richard Knox, Red Corona, was published in 2021. A Loyal Traitor is his second novel.

Reviews

A Loyal Traitor is a thoroughly gripping spy thriller. Tim Glister puts the reader at the heart of the Cold War and captures the high stakes paranoia of the era brilliantly.'

- Adam Hamdy, author of Black 13

'Stunningly authentic, masterfully plotted and brilliantly composed, this is historical thriller writing at its very best.' 

- Matthew Richardson, author of The Insider

A Loyal Traitor is an accomplished and atmospheric spy novel with an original protagonist and a burning question at its heart. Considered and entertaining, I was drawn in from page one.'

- Charlotte Philby, author of Part of the Family

‘It is incredibly satisfying reading a follow-up that not only matches but surpasses the original... This is superior stuff. A lean, intelligent espionage thriller skilfully rendering not just the messy truth of Cold War operations, but the intimate emotional toll of such work.... I love how the action globetrots between numerous compellingly drawn locations -  Haiti, Moscow, Geneva, the Kent countryside, a Soviet sub prowling British waters - yet, it feels very much a London novel. Soho and Smithfield, Highgate and Haringay. Up the Strand and down Green Lanes. The city is pressed into the book like a fingerprint.'

- Dominic Nolan, author of the Abigail Boone series

‘Tim Glister is creating such an elegant and vivid style of his own. This is another pitch perfect portrayal of a Cold War crisis. Glister creates a distinctive and fascinating thriller, which I hugely enjoyed.'

- Holly Watt, author of To the Lions

Praise for Red Corona:

‘This pitch-perfect debut - a gripping espionage thriller in the vein of Charles Cumming, Tom Rob Smith and Mick Herron - signals the arrival of a remarkable talent.' A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

‘An entertaining blend of Le Carré-like in-house establishment rivalries and sheer propulsive action reminiscent of Len Deighton.'  Maxim Jakubowski

‘A thoroughly engaging spy thriller that had me gripped from start to finish and left me desperate for more!'

S. J. Watson, author of Before I Go to Sleep

‘An entertaining, not to say nostalgic, espionage thriller.' The Times Crime Club

Also by this author