Skip to main content

Two Oneworld Titles Shortlisted for the RSL Encore Award 2021

5th May, 2021

We’re delighted to have two Oneworld titles on the Encore Award shortlist  The Wild Laughter by Caoilinn Hughes and The First Woman by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi. 

Run by the Royal Society of Literature (RSL), the annual award celebrating outstanding second novels is judged by Sian Cain, Nikita Lalwani and Paul Muldoon this year, and awards the winner £10,000. 

The judges commented: “This year’s shortlist is bursting with books that are to be lauded for their ambition — transporting us to other worlds with a mixture of mischief and panache, protest and compassion. We came away enriched from each novel and with much to discuss – these are books teeming with ideas and full of memorable characters.”

Find out more about the Encore Award and the shortlist here

The winner will be announced on the 20th May  best of luck to Caoilinn and Jennifer! 


Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.

Select mailing lists