Skip to main content

Oneworld Signs New Book from Lemony Snicket

31st March, 2021

Oneworld’s Rock the Boat imprint has acquired UK and British Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, with serial and audio rights, to the latest novel from internationally renowned author of A Series of Unfortunate Events, Lemony Snicket.

Oneworld’s Rock the Boat will publish Poison for Breakfast in hardback on 2 September this year.

Poison for Breakfast is a standalone novel for all ages by one of the twenty-first century’s most beloved authors, and will be illustrated by acclaimed artist Margaux Kent.

This true story – as true as Lemony Snicket himself – begins with a puzzling note under his door: You had poison for breakfast. And with that, one of the most famous narrators in contemporary middle-grade fiction (and chronicler of other people’s mysteries) finds himself in a race against the clock to solve the mystery of his own demise. Along the way, he takes readers on a delightful journey of philosophy, literature, art, love, life, death and other “bewildering” subjects.

Publisher Juliet Mabey said: “We’re absolutely thrilled to be publishing this extraordinary and profoundly moving novel from Lemony Snicket, an author whose playful, always thoughtful and distinctive voice we joyously introduced to our own children, and now have the joy of introducing to a brand new readership.

“It is a classic-in-the-making, very much in the great tradition of modern fables like The Little Prince and The Phantom Tollbooth, penned as both a love letter to readers and reading, and a meditation on the vagaries of life. I’m confident that it will stir the hearts of young and old alike, both long-time fans and new readers.”

Lemony Snicket said: “For far too long my work has bewildered, perplexed and upset readers all over the one world we live in. Oneworld’s decision to publish Poison for Breakfast indicates they are either very brave, very foolish, or as bewildered, perplexed and upset as everyone else.”

Snicket is the author of the thirteen volumes in A Series of Unfortunate Events; several picture books, including The Dark and The Bad Mood and the Stick, and the books collectively titled All the Wrong Questions. His work has sold between 70 and 80 million copies worldwide.

Related books

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.

Select mailing lists