Skip to main content

No Turning Back longlisted for the RSL Ondaatje Prize

27th March, 2019

No Turning Back by Rania Abouzeid has been longlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize.

The RSL Ondaatje Prize is an annual award of £10,000 for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, best evoking the spirit of a place. The shortlist will be announced at the RSL’s event ‘The Spirit of a Place’ on Tuesday 16 April with the winner following on Monday 13 May.

Rania Abouzeid has also been collecting accolades across the pond. She has won the Cornelius Ryan Award for Best Nonfiction Book on International Affairs from the Overseas Press Club, and is a finalist for the 2019 Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism.

The RSL Ondaatje Prize longlist in full:

No Turning Back by Rania Abouzeid
Perfidious Albion by Sam Byers
Little by Edward Carey
Middle England by Jonathan Coe
The Wife’s Tale by Aida Edemariam
Happiness by Aminatta Forna
Where the road runs out by Gaia Holmes
The Café de Move-on Blues by Christopher Hope
A Stranger’s Pose by Emmanuel Iduma
Mary Ann Sate, Imbecile by Alice Jolly
Arkady by Patrick Langley
A Line in the River by Jamal Mahjoub
Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss
Let Me Be Like Water by S.K. Perry
From a Low and Quiet Sea by Donal Ryan
The Dictionary of Animal Languages by Heidi Sopinka
The Crossway by Guy Stagg
The Valley at the Centre of the World by Malachy Tallack
Wilding by Isabella Tree
Kings of the Yukon by Adam Weymouth

More about the award here.

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.
Select mailing lists