Skip to main content

Jacqueline Woodson wins Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

28th March, 2018

Jacqueline Woodson has won the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2018, worth SEK 5m (£430,000). Her novel Another Brooklyn, shortlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction, was published by Oneworld in 2017. 

When selecting Jacqueline as their laureate, the jury wrote:

“Jacqueline Woodson introduces us to resilient young people fighting to find a place where their lives can take root. In language as light as air, she tells stories of resounding richness and depth. Jacqueline Woodson captures a unique poetic note in a daily reality divided between sorrow and hope.”

Discover more about the award here.

Jacqueline Woodson

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletters to find out more about our latest books and offers, straight to your inbox.
Select mailing lists